Northern Serbia: Sremski Karlovci & Novi Sad Full-Day Group Tour from Belgrade

(Place of departure: )

Tour code: #1048
  • 2024/01/images/tour_1048/novi-sad-4.jpg
  • 2024/01/images/tour_1048/novi-sad-1.jpg
  • 2024/01/images/tour_1048/novi-sad-3.jpg
  • 2024/01/images/tour_1048/novi-sad-2.jpg
  • 2024/01/images/tour_1048/novi-sad-7.jpg
  • 2024/01/images/tour_1048/novi-sad-5.jpg
  • 2024/01/images/tour_1048/novi-sad-8.jpg
  • 2024/01/images/tour_1048/novi-sad-6.jpg

Abstract:

Enjoy a whole day, complete the Northern Serbia experience, and get to know everything about the area on this tour. Choose between a private and a small shared group, with live, professional guidance and an air-conditioned vehicle. You'll visit one orthodox monastery in a region known as 'The Holy Mountain of Serbia,' a lovely baroque town of Sremski Karlovci, the mighty Petrovaradin Fortress, and the second-largest city in Serbia – Novi Sad. You'll have the chance to feel the unique atmosphere of multi-ethnic and multi-cultural Vojvodina – the "melting pot" with more than 25 ethnic groups and six languages in official use. And last but not least, you'll get the chance to taste some unique, locally-produced wine.

Activities:

Hotel Pick-up
Tour start – Travel across Northern Serbia
Krušedol Monastery
Sremski Karlovci with wine tasting
Petrovaradin Fortress
Novi Sad sightseeing
Free time
Departure for Belgrade
Hotel Drop-off

Tour description:

Your trip will begin with pick up from your hotel/accommodation in Belgrade, and we will head toward the Northern Serbian province of Vojvodina.

An hour of our ride we will spend enjoying the colorful landscapes of the Pannonian plain and hearing stories about the turbulent history of this area.
Home to more than 25 ethnic groups, with six official languages in use, Vojvodina represents a diversity unheard of in the rest of the country.
Fine chernozem soils make Vojvodina the agricultural heart of Serbia, and the region supplies much of the country’s wheat and corn (maize). They have a saying in Vojvodina: “if you drop a button into the ground, next spring, you will harvest a full coat.”

FRUŠKA GORA: We reach Fruška Gora, the only mountain in this region, covered with woods and filled with vineyards on the lower slopes, one of 5 National parks in Serbia but also one of the oldest and best wine regions. The thick Lyndon forests served as a perfect hiding place for 17 medieval Orthodox monasteries that have nested within it.

KRUŠEDOL MONASTERY: Fruška Gora, or “The Serbian Holly Mountain,” as it is often referred to, is a home for 17 active Orthodox monasteries. The monasteries were founded during the period of wars and migrations caused by Turkish occupation. They became vital communities that ensured that Serbian identity and Orthodox religion would survive through difficult times. Founded in the early 16th century, Krušedol is probably the most important one. Despite the large-scale destruction on several occasions, some original paintings remain on the dome’s pillars, while frescoes and icons date back to the mid-1700s. The church contains the remains of many members of the Serbian noble Branković family, as well as King Milan Obrenović (died 1901).

SREMSKI KARLOVCI: A quiet, Baroque town where time has stopped will impress you with its small houses, Baroque churches, palaces, gardens, and fountains. It has an impressive history as well: in 1699, a peace treaty between Christian European forces and Ottoman Empire was signed here, putting an end to the Ottoman conquest of Europe.
The town was a religious and educational center of the Serbs for more than 250 years, which makes it one of the most critical places in Serbian history.
First, we will visit the Chapel of Peace, where the peace treaty was signed. Then we’ll stroll through the streets of Karlovci down to the main square. Here we will see the Four Lions Fountain, The Karlovci Gymnasium (High School), the Town Hall, the Roman Catholic Church, the Serbian Orthodox Church of St. Nicholas, the Patriarchy, and the Serbian Orthodox Theological Seminary. In one of the oldest wine cellars in the city, we’ll taste the most famous product of the area: the Bermet wine.

THE WINERY: Our next stop will be the famous Bajlo winery. The Bajilo family has a wine-making tradition longer than 250 years. Present owners are the fourth generation in the business, so we believe that they are the right address for us to get acquainted with the Bermet, Serbian wine that even made it to Titanic.
Bermet is a unique kind of locally-produced aromatic dessert wine. Its delightful sweet taste is easy to underestimate, although it holds around 15-18% of alcohol! Mostly prepared as red wine, it was quite trendy among European royal families in the 15h century, and it was exported to the United States in the late 19th century.
We’ll hear stories about the history of wine-making in Sremski Karlovci, discover the secrets about Bermet production that every family keeps for themself, and we will learn why they say that Bermet is “the best wine for men, but when a lady drinks it”
We will make sure that we don’t leave the cellar before we sample some of this sweet nectar, for which they say that even mighty Maria Theresa was extremely fond.

PETROVARADIN FORTRESS: Next, we’ll visit the mighty Petrovaradin Fortress, nicknamed ‘Gibraltar on the Danube'. One of the largest strongholds in Europe, still preserved, covers the surface of 100 ha. Built by the Austrian Empire in the 17th-18th centuries, it played a significant role in defending the Middle European countries from Ottoman attacks. We’ll walk through the fortress, passing through some of its gates, and we’ll see the most exciting places on the top of it, like City Museum, Old Military Barracks, and the Clock Tower. We’ll enjoy the view over the Danube and the city of Novi Sad.

NOVI SAD: Novi Sad is the second-largest city in Serbia, with its typical Middle European appearance and proud history of being a cultural and intellectual center of the Serbs in the Austro-Hungarian Empire, for which it earned a name – Serbian Athens. Here we’ll see the most famous sights: the Museum of Vojvodina and Dunavski park – the largest green area in the city, the beautiful Neo-Romantic Serbian Orthodox Bishop’s Palace. We will not miss the Serbian Orthodox Cathedral of St. George from the 18th century, with its valuable iconostasis painted by famous Serbian painter Paja Jovanovic. We’ll walk through the main street further on, enjoying the 18th and 19th-century architecture, as well as endless rows of cafes and restaurants, until we reach Liberty Square, a central point in the city. Here we’ll find The Town Hall, Roman Catholic Cathedral, Finance Palace, and the Neo-Classical edifice of the oldest city hotel called Vojvodina. Finally, we’ll pass by the Serbian National Theater and reach the city Synagogue, a beautiful Hungarian Secession-style building, one of the largest European synagogues to be preserved.

After that, we’ll take a break, and you can enjoy your free time in Novi Sad. Perhaps, take your guide’s advice for a traditional Serbian lunch (at own expense), go shopping, visit The Museum of Vojvodina, or wander around the streets of Novi Sad. At the arranged time, get back into the vehicle and head back to Belgrade.

Your tour concludes with transportation back to your hotel/accommodation in Belgrade, where we’ll arrive in the afternoon. End of services

Dates of departure:

Tue 23.04.2024
Wed 24.04.2024
Thu 25.04.2024
Sat 27.04.2024
Sun 28.04.2024
Tue 30.04.2024
Wed 01.05.2024
Thu 02.05.2024
Sat 04.05.2024
Tue 07.05.2024
Wed 08.05.2024
Thu 09.05.2024
Sat 11.05.2024
Sun 12.05.2024
Tue 14.05.2024
Wed 15.05.2024
Thu 16.05.2024
Sat 18.05.2024
Sun 19.05.2024
Tue 21.05.2024
Wed 22.05.2024
Thu 23.05.2024
Sat 25.05.2024
Sun 26.05.2024
Tue 28.05.2024
Wed 29.05.2024
Thu 30.05.2024
Sat 01.06.2024
Sun 02.06.2024
Tue 04.06.2024
Wed 05.06.2024
Thu 06.06.2024
Sat 08.06.2024
Sun 09.06.2024
Tue 11.06.2024
Wed 12.06.2024
Thu 13.06.2024
Sat 15.06.2024
Sun 16.06.2024
Tue 18.06.2024
Wed 19.06.2024
Thu 20.06.2024
Sat 22.06.2024
Sun 23.06.2024
Tue 25.06.2024
Wed 26.06.2024
Thu 27.06.2024
Sat 29.06.2024
Sun 30.06.2024
Tue 02.07.2024
Wed 03.07.2024
Thu 04.07.2024
Sat 06.07.2024
Sun 07.07.2024
Tue 09.07.2024
Wed 10.07.2024
Thu 11.07.2024
Sat 13.07.2024
Sun 14.07.2024
Tue 16.07.2024
Wed 17.07.2024
Thu 18.07.2024
Sat 20.07.2024
Sun 21.07.2024
Tue 23.07.2024
Wed 24.07.2024
Thu 25.07.2024
Sat 27.07.2024
Sun 28.07.2024
Tue 30.07.2024
Wed 31.07.2024
Thu 01.08.2024
Sat 03.08.2024
Sun 04.08.2024
Tue 06.08.2024
Wed 07.08.2024
Thu 08.08.2024
Sat 10.08.2024
Sun 11.08.2024
Tue 13.08.2024
Wed 14.08.2024
Thu 15.08.2024
Sat 17.08.2024
Sun 18.08.2024
Tue 20.08.2024
Wed 21.08.2024
Thu 22.08.2024
Sat 24.08.2024
Sun 25.08.2024
Tue 27.08.2024
Wed 28.08.2024
Thu 29.08.2024
Sat 31.08.2024
Sun 01.09.2024
Tue 03.09.2024
Wed 04.09.2024
Thu 05.09.2024
Sat 07.09.2024
Sun 08.09.2024
Tue 10.09.2024
Wed 11.09.2024
Thu 12.09.2024
Sat 14.09.2024
Sun 15.09.2024
Tue 17.09.2024
Wed 18.09.2024
Thu 19.09.2024
Sat 21.09.2024
Sun 22.09.2024
Tue 24.09.2024
Wed 25.09.2024
Thu 26.09.2024
Sat 28.09.2024
Sun 29.09.2024
Tue 01.10.2024
Wed 02.10.2024
Thu 03.10.2024
Sat 05.10.2024
Sun 06.10.2024
Tue 08.10.2024
Wed 09.10.2024
Thu 10.10.2024
Sat 12.10.2024
Sun 13.10.2024
Tue 15.10.2024
Wed 16.10.2024
Thu 17.10.2024
Sat 19.10.2024
Sun 20.10.2024
Tue 22.10.2024
Wed 23.10.2024
Thu 24.10.2024
Sat 26.10.2024
Sun 27.10.2024
Tue 29.10.2024
Wed 30.10.2024
Thu 31.10.2024
Sat 02.11.2024
Sun 03.11.2024
Tue 05.11.2024
Thu 07.11.2024
Sat 09.11.2024
Sun 10.11.2024
Tue 12.11.2024
Thu 14.11.2024
Sat 16.11.2024
Sun 17.11.2024
Tue 19.11.2024
Thu 21.11.2024
Sat 23.11.2024
Sun 24.11.2024
Tue 26.11.2024
Thu 28.11.2024
Sat 30.11.2024
Sun 01.12.2024
Tue 03.12.2024
Thu 05.12.2024
Sat 07.12.2024
Sun 08.12.2024
Tue 10.12.2024
Thu 12.12.2024
Sat 14.12.2024
Sun 15.12.2024
Tue 17.12.2024
Thu 19.12.2024
Sat 21.12.2024
Sun 22.12.2024
Tue 24.12.2024
Thu 26.12.2024
Sat 28.12.2024
Sun 29.12.2024
Tue 31.12.2024
Thu 02.01.2025
Sat 04.01.2025
Sun 05.01.2025
Tue 07.01.2025
Thu 09.01.2025
Sat 11.01.2025
Sun 12.01.2025
Tue 14.01.2025
Thu 16.01.2025

Location of departure Address of location Time of departure Supplement or discount for departure from the place
-

Conditions for free cancellation

We apply very simple rules. If you cancel the tour up to 24 hrs before, you’ll get a 100% refund. If you cancel the tour less than 24 hrs before the trip, you will not receive any refund.

Guide language

English

Notes for transport

The type of vehicle depends on the number of passengers:

1) Car: Ford Mondeo, Skoda Superb, or similar (from 1-3 passengers)
2) Van: Ford Transit Custom, Fiat Talento, Renault Trafic (from 4-8 passengers)
3) Minibus: Mercedes Sprinter (from 9-18 passengers)

Included in price

Free hotel pick-up and drop-off
Transport by air-conditioned minivan or private car
Professional guide
Entrance fees
Bermet wine tasting

Not included in price

Full traditional Serbian lunch (optional, 10-13 EUR per person)
Gratuities (optional)

Notes on dressing

The tour includes an entrance to places of worship, so please wear appropriate clothing.

Notes about children

The child rate (30 EUR) applies only when sharing with two paying adults. Valid for children from 2-12 years. Infants are free of charge.

Other notes

The minimum number for a shared tour to operate is three guests.

Terms of payment

We will send you the payment link via the TrustMyTravel paying platform upon booking.

Northern Serbia: Sremski Karlovci & Novi Sad Full-Day Group Tour from Belgrade (4,5)

  1. LUIS ENTRALA

    I booked the "Sremski Karlovci & Novi Sad Full-Day Group Tour from Belgrade" online through SerbianAdventures.com The information provided was accurate, and the tour pick-up was on time. The tour guide Milica texted me on WhatsApp to let me know they were on their way to pick me up. The bus was comfortable and the ride was good. Our first stop was at the Krušedol Monastery. From there we headed to Sremski Karlovci, walked a bit along the street of the city center and after that, we went for a quick and pleasant wine tasting for less than 20 minutes. The next stop, is Petrovaradin Fortress, with great views of the city of Novi Sand, and after it Novi Sad sightseeing and two hours of free time to eat and enjoy downtown. I must say that Milica is a great tour guide. She is very professional, dynamic, and pleasant. She speaks English very well and has a wide knowledge of the history of Serbia. She is an asset to the company. I recommend this tour. It's worth the time and the money. Hvala!!

  2. Christina Rothman-Iliff

    It was a good tour however it wasn’t what was described. The description included a stop at a wine cellar in addition to the Bermet tasting in Sremski Karlovci. We did not stop at a wine cellar, there was only the one tasting. I would recommend this to others but you should change your description of that stop Is not included.

Price from * : 54 EUR

Book the tour

Adults
× 54 = 0
Children
× 30 = 0
Total = 0 (EUR)
Next