Ottoman Niš

(Place of departure: )

Tour code: #658
3,5 h
Destinations:
  • 2019/08/images/tour_658/346.CeleKula.jpg
  • 2019/09/images/tour_658/tvrdjava.jpg
  • 2019/09/images/tour_658/celekula.png
  • 2019/09/images/tour_658/tvrdjava1.jpg

Abstract:

Since the first century after the Ottoman conquest (14th century), Niš quickly became a strong foothold for new masters in their aspiration towards Central Europe...

Activities:

Čegar
Skull Tower (1809)
Bora Stanković/Stevan Sremac Gymnasium
Old Mišić house
Bekir-bey’s mansion
Monument to the hanged Nishlias (1821)

Tour description:

Since the first century after the Ottoman conquest (14th century), Niš quickly became a strong foothold for new masters in their aspiration towards Central Europe. From the first half of the 18th century its significance for the Ottomans became greater, when a massive and spacious fortress was built in Niš. It is today one of the largest and the most preserved Ottoman fortifications on the route from Kalemegdan (Belgrade) to Istanbul. The Fortress of Niš, today's most famous symbol of this city, abounds in monuments from the Ottoman era which are adapted for new functions (as galleries, commercial spaces...), while the entire complex of this ancient fort is a world for itself that will completely isolate you from everything outside its walls. The tour Ottoman Niš includes a walk along the fort and its immediate surroundings, including lots of stories about the most important episodes from the history of this city under the Ottomans. This particularly applies to Niš under the Ottomans in the 19th century, when in the decades of westernification of Ottoman Empire (1839-1878) this city enjoyed the reputation of a true Oriental utopia.

Čegar

Place of the historical battle (1809) from the First Serbian Uprising (1804–1813). The visit includes a break for a short break

Vinik: battle for Niš (1689) in historical naratives

Skull Tower (1809)

Monument from the First Serbian Uprising (1809-1813)

The largest building in the world made of human bones

Bora Stanković/Stevan Sremac Gymnasium

The place where was built the first combined crafts school and orphanage (islahana) in the Ottoman Empire

Old Mišić house

Bekir-bey’s mansion

Monument to the hanged Nishlias (1821)

Fortress

Islam-aga’s mosque

Stambolijski house

Tin craftsmen’ street

Dates of departure:

Sun 16.06.2024
Mon 17.06.2024
Tue 18.06.2024
Wed 19.06.2024
Thu 20.06.2024
Fri 21.06.2024
Sat 22.06.2024
Sun 23.06.2024
Mon 24.06.2024
Tue 25.06.2024
Wed 26.06.2024
Thu 27.06.2024
Fri 28.06.2024
Sat 29.06.2024
Sun 30.06.2024
Mon 01.07.2024
Tue 02.07.2024
Wed 03.07.2024
Thu 04.07.2024
Fri 05.07.2024
Sat 06.07.2024
Sun 07.07.2024
Mon 08.07.2024
Tue 09.07.2024
Wed 10.07.2024
Thu 11.07.2024
Fri 12.07.2024
Sat 13.07.2024
Sun 14.07.2024
Mon 15.07.2024
Tue 16.07.2024
Wed 17.07.2024
Thu 18.07.2024
Fri 19.07.2024
Sat 20.07.2024
Sun 21.07.2024
Mon 22.07.2024
Tue 23.07.2024
Wed 24.07.2024
Thu 25.07.2024
Fri 26.07.2024
Sat 27.07.2024
Sun 28.07.2024
Mon 29.07.2024
Tue 30.07.2024
Wed 31.07.2024
Thu 01.08.2024
Fri 02.08.2024
Sat 03.08.2024
Sun 04.08.2024
Mon 05.08.2024
Tue 06.08.2024
Wed 07.08.2024
Thu 08.08.2024
Fri 09.08.2024
Sat 10.08.2024
Sun 11.08.2024
Mon 12.08.2024
Tue 13.08.2024
Wed 14.08.2024
Thu 15.08.2024
Fri 16.08.2024
Sat 17.08.2024
Sun 18.08.2024
Mon 19.08.2024
Tue 20.08.2024
Wed 21.08.2024
Thu 22.08.2024
Fri 23.08.2024
Sat 24.08.2024
Sun 25.08.2024
Mon 26.08.2024
Tue 27.08.2024
Wed 28.08.2024
Thu 29.08.2024
Fri 30.08.2024
Sat 31.08.2024
Sun 01.09.2024
Mon 02.09.2024
Tue 03.09.2024
Wed 04.09.2024
Thu 05.09.2024
Fri 06.09.2024
Sat 07.09.2024
Sun 08.09.2024
Mon 09.09.2024
Tue 10.09.2024
Wed 11.09.2024
Thu 12.09.2024
Fri 13.09.2024
Sat 14.09.2024
Sun 15.09.2024
Mon 16.09.2024
Tue 17.09.2024
Wed 18.09.2024
Thu 19.09.2024
Fri 20.09.2024
Sat 21.09.2024

Location of departure Address of location Time of departure Supplement or discount for departure from the place
po dogovoru 70 EUR

Guide language

Serbian, English

Price from * : 70 EUR

Book the tour

Adults
× 70 = 0
Total = 0 (EUR)
Next